Exploring Project Tycho - Treemaps and Correct Hierarchies

Hello,
I am a student studying computer science at Swansea University, we are working on an assignment that involves exploring data from Project Tycho (https://www.tycho.pitt.edu/) and applying various analytical tools and techniques in order to make various observations. Here is a treemap that I have created in Tableau, representing information on meningitis and meningococcal meningitis within 10 US States, more details can be found below:

Visual Design Type: Treemap.

Name of Tool: Tableau

Disease: Meningitis and Meningococcal Meningitis

Year: 1905-1964

Visual Mappings:

– filter: the top 10 states with the highest number of records for both types of meningitis were filtered out for use.

– Colour: colour is mapped to the difference between the number of fatalities among the different states.

– Shape: each bottom level rectangle represents a state.

– Size: the size of each bottom-level rectangle is mapped to the number of records for each respective condition for a given state, while the size of each higher-level rectangle represents the number of records for each condition.

– Position: the position of each rectangle/state is determined by decreasing frequency in the number of records, the more records a state holds, the further it is to the left.

– Hierarchy: the states are grouped by disease → state

Unique Observation: We can easily compare rates of both diseases and fatalities within states, i.e., We can see that Wisconsin has a lower rate of fatalities for both diseases comparatively to other states. We can also see that for its rate of Meningococcal Meningitis Texas has a relatively low rate of Meningitis, whereas other states tend to place at similar positions within each condition.

Data Preparation: In order to create the hierarchy, the datasets for Meningitis and Meningococcal Meningitis within the US were combined.

DOIs:
Meningitis: 10.25337/T7/ptycho.v2.0/US.7180009