Visualising time on a geospatial map

Attachment:

DOI: DOI10.25337/T7/ptycho.v2.0/US.14189004
Tool: Tableau

Context:
Hello,
I am a BSc Computer Science student, currently undertaking a Data Visualization module. As part of my coursework, I am exploring the Project Tycho dataset. I am currently looking at ways to visualize the amount of fatalities claimed by the Measles virus in the United States over a 100 year period, specifically 1900 - 2000. I have produced the attached geospatial map using Tableau. The sum of fatalities in each state is mapped both to the colour (darker shade of red implies more fatalities) and the labels, which give exact values.

From the visualization, it is clear that several states in the north-eastern regions have historically suffered a significantly larger fatality rate than states in the Midwest region. We can also spot some interesting outliers - the states of Idaho and New Mexico have not suffered a single fatality due to the virus over the entire 100 year period.

Problem:
I am looking for ways to visualize the time dimension using a geospatial map such as the attached one. In particular, I would like to visualize the fatality counts in relation to their historical occurrence, perhaps in steps of 10 years. This would allow us to extract more information - visualize historical trends and identify outbreaks. I believe that animated visualizations (video), or interactive ones (a slider to select time slices) would be possible solutions, however my submission is to be printed on paper, invalidating these options.

Question: