Does my design for displaying the fatality rates for Meningitis, Pertussis, Pneumonia, Smallpox across USA from the years 1900-1950 make sense?

I am a swansea university student that has been given the task to create visual designs for data from Project Tycho (https://www.tycho.pitt.edu/).

The visual design I have created is a Treemap which shows the states with the highest amount of fatality rates between the years 1900-1950 and what disease out of Meningitis, Pertussis, Pneumonia and Smallpox from each of these states make up the majority amounts of fatalities. This will show me the most fatal disease for each of the States across America.

Visual Design Type : Treemap

Name of Tool : Tableau

Diseases : Meningitis, Pertussis, Pneumonia, Smallpox

Year : 1900-1950

Visual Mappings :
-Text: this is mapped to the name of the States to make it easier to tell which is which.
-Colour: this is mapped to the different diseases
-Size: this is mapped to the amount of fatalities for each of the diseases from the year 1900 to 1950. For each state, there is a large rectangle to represent it, the size of this is the amount of fatalities for all of the diseases from the state. Inside the states rectangles are smaller rectangles that each represent a disease, the size of these are mapped to the amount of fatalities that the disease has caused for the state that it is inside of.
-Position: the position of the elements shows which state/disease has the most amount of fatalities at first glance, the larger amounts go toward the left and smaller to the right. The largest are in the top left and smallest are in the bottom right.
-Hierarchy: This is grouped by States then inside of each state is the Diseases which show the total amount of fatalities.

Unique Observation :